

COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

MINUTES

October 29, 2024
COUNCIL CHAMBERS
400 Main Street SE

PRESENT

Mayor P. Brown
Deputy Mayor H. Spearman
Councillor D. Belyk (via MS Teams)
Councillor R. Chapman
Councillor A. Jones (via MS Teams)
Councillor C. Kolson
Councillor T. Petrow

STAFF

- H. Galanti, City Manager
- C. Satink, Manager Legislative Services & IGM/City Clerk
- T. Belsham, Team Leader Legislative Services/Assistant City Clerk
- K. Spence, Council Technician
- K. Rushford, Recording Technician

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Brown called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m.

2. CLOSED SESSION - 1:00 PM

2024-C-339

Moved By Councillor Kolson

That Council enters the Closed Meeting at 1:04 p.m. to discuss the following items:

- 1. 2025 Citizen Members Board Appointments Section 29 (Information that is or will be made available to the public) Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act)
- 2. 2025 Council Representatives Appointments Section 29 (Information that is or will be made available to the public) Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act)

With the following:

PRESENT

Mayor P. Brown

Deputy Mayor H. Spearman

Councillor D. Belyk (via MS Teams)

Councillor R. Chapman

Councillor A. Jones (via MS Teams)

Councillor C. Kolson

Councillor T. Petrow

The following staff members were present to provide advice to officials:

STAFF

- H. Galanti, City Manager,
- S. Utz, Director Strategic Growth and Investment,
- C. Satink, Manager Legislative Services & IGM/City Clerk,
- T. Belsham, Team Leader Legislative Services/Assistant City Clerk,
- K. Spence, Council Technician, and
- K. Rushford, who recorded the meeting.

Carried

2024-C-340

Moved by Councillor Petrow

That Council leaves the Closed Session at 2:28 p.m.

Carried

RECESS

Mayor Brown called a recess at 2:28 p.m. The meeting reconvened at 2:41 p.m.

3. PUBLIC AGENDA - Immediately following Closed Session

4. AGENDA REPORTS

1. 2025 Council Calendar (Charlotte Satink, Manager of Legislative Services and IGM/City Clerk)

2024-C-341

Moved by Councillor Jones

That Council approves the 2025 Council Calendar, as amended to remove the August 19, 2025 Council meeting.

Carried

5. MOTIONS ARISING FROM CLOSED SESSION

2024-C-342

Moved By Councillor Chapman

That Council appoints Moosa Rahman and reappoints Oluwadamilola (Simi) Obasan to the Assessment Review Board for a three-year term, effective January 1, 2025.

Carried

2024-C-343

Moved By Councillor Belyk

That Council reappoints Sara Winger to The City of Airdrie Library Board for a three-year term, effective January 1, 2025.

Carried

2024-C-344

Moved By Councillor Kolson

That Council appoints Art Skow and reappoints Haji Ali Darvish, Jeanne Miller, Kene Ilochonwu, Scott Lamoureux and Blake Warne to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board/General Appeal Board for a one-year term, effective January 1, 2025.

Carried

2024-C-345

Moved By Deputy Mayor Spearman

That Council makes Council Member appointments to external committees, its advisory committee, as well as to its quasi-judicial boards, the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board and General Appeal Board as follows:

Mayor Brown:	Calgary Metropolitan Region Board, Mid-Sized Cities Mayors Caucus, Rocky View County and Airdrie Intermunicipal Committee, Airdrie Mainstreet Square Real Estate Inc., Trilateral Joint Planning Area 1 Committee
Councillor Belyk:	Airdrie Library Board, Airdrie Board of Youth Affairs Liaison
Councillor Chapman:	Airdrie Mainstreet Square Real Estate Inc., Calgary Metropolitan Region Board (alternate), Rocky View County and Airdrie Intermunicipal Committee, Trilateral Joint Planning Area 1 Committee
Councillor Jones:	Airdrie Housing Limited, Airdrie Mainstreet Square Real Estate Inc., Rocky View County and Airdrie Intermunicipal Committee (alternate)
Councillor Kolson:	Subdivision and Development Appeal Board and General Appeal Board (Chair)
Councillor Petrow:	Calgary Metropolitan Region Board (alternate), Rocky View Foundation Board of Directors
Deputy Mayor Spearman:	Airdrie Housing Limited, Airdrie Library Board, Inter-City Forum on Social Policy

Carried

2024-C-346

Moved By Councillor Petrow

That Council extends the terms of the current Chairs of its Standing Committees as follows:

- Community & Corporate Services Standing Committee: Councillor Tina Petrow,
- Community infrastructure & Strategic Growth Standing Committee: Councillor Al Jones, and
- Community Safety & Social Services Standing Committee: Councillor Ron Chapman,

for a one-year term effective October 29, 2024 to October 28, 2025.

Carried

2024-C-347

Moved By Deputy Mayor Spearman

That Council approves Art Skow's service on more than one committee at the same time pursuant to section 17 of Committees Bylaw B-11/2024.

Carried

6. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Brown adjourned the meeting at 2:57 p.m.

